Irena Tomažin: Performance (performance)
15. 11.2017
ACE KIBLA / Kiblix 2017

Irena Tomažin is a dancer, performer, vocalist in post-graduate student of philosophy. She also holds regular voice workshops in Ljubljana and abroad. 

She was actively involved in the art of dance and theater since secondary school when she was a member of the theater group IHT. She received further dance-theatre and voice education in programs such as EN-KNAP Laboratory; the educational program Agon of EMANAT; the Performing Arts seminars of Maska Ljubljana, as well as in many workshops and seminars in Slovenia and abroad. In 2004 she received the danceWEB Scholarship for Contemporary Dance (ImPulzTanz Festival Vienna, AT) and was selected in 2007 as a trainee at the Grotowski Institute (Wroclaw, PL).

In 2001 she made her dance debut Hitchcock’s Metamorphoses together with conductor Mitja Reichenberg and in 2005 her second solo Caprice, which focused on the voice. After this solo she started to work more intensively on the voice. In 2006 she did a remake of Caprice for the festival City of Women, Ljubljana, SI, entitled Caprice (re)lapsed. For both pieces she was awarded the Liberal Academy’s Golden Bird Award. The following projects were As a Rain Drop into the Mouth of Silence (2008), for which she received an award at the Gibanica Festival in 2009, and Out of Discord, in collaboration with Josephine Evrard. In 2012 she produced her fourth solo The Taste of Silence Always Resonates.

Mathieu Copeland invited her in 2011 to work with him on the project Une exposition à être lue in Geneva (HEAD), as co-curator of the exhibition, lecturer, and author for the project publication, in which her compositions for voice and body were published. In 2013, they continued their collaboration through the project Chorégraphier l’exposition, (Ferme du Buisson, Paris), contributing again one of her compositions, and a text titled Voice’s Empty Spaces. 

Since 2006 she runs a solo project for voice and dictaphones dubbed iT, holding guest appearances in Slovenia and abroad. In 2011 Crying Games was released, produced by Atol Institute, together with Aldo Ivančić with whom she worked as part of the BAST collective, as well as on the album Retinal Circus. In the framework of the international project Co-voicings (2013-14), they released The Taste of Silence, with music from Tomažin’s performance The Taste of Silence Always Resonates.




2012 Okus tišine vedno odmeva / The Taste of Silence Always Resonates

2010 Splet okoliščin / Out of Discord (in collaboration with Josephine Evrard)

2009 Ptih! / Ptih! (in collaboration with Hanna Preuss)

2008 Kot kaplja dežja v usta molka / As a Rain Drop into the Mouth of Silence

2006 (S)pozaba kaprice / Caprice (re)lapsed

2005 Kaprica / Caprice

2001 Hitchcockove metamorfoze / Hitchcock’s Metamorphosis (in collaboration with Mitja Reichenberg)



CD Okus tišine / The Taste of Silence (2014)

CD Irena Tomažin & Chirstof Kurzmann, Ljubljana-Wien (2013)

CD Crying games, iT (2011)

CD: Irena Tomažin & Marko Karlovčec, To kar se primeri kaplja rdeče / That which happens is itself dripping red

CD Retinal circus, Bast Kolektiv (2007)



2006 Liberal Academy’s Golden Bird Award for performing arts (performances Caprice and Caprice (re)lapsed

2009 Festival Gibanica Award for choreography (performance As a Rain Drop into the Mouth of Silence)
2015 Best Performance Award selected by the audience: Irena Tomažin: The Taste of Silence Always Resonates
Best Performance Award selected by the jury: Irena Tomažin: The Taste of Silence Always Resonates (members of the jury: dr. Paula Caspao, Jana Jevtović, Yvonna Kreuzmannova)



Dance and theater plays: Bara Kolenc, Dušan Teropšič, Mala Kline, Maja Delak, Kayo Mikami, Dragan Živadinov, Emil Hrvatin, Barbara Novakovič, Silvan Omerzu, Magdalena Reiter, Sebastian Horvat, Hanna Preuss, Eric Dean Scott, Josephine Evrard, Sergej Kovalevich, Jaka Andrej Vojevec, Tino Sehgal (Documenta 13), Anne Hirth, Christian Kesten, Mathieu Copeland …


Improvised music: Tomaž Grom, Neža Naglič, Marko Karlovčec, Seijiro Murajama, Liz Allbee, Okyung Lee, Noid, Klaus Filip, Christof Kurzmann, Lee Patterson, Xavier Charles, Tetsuya Umeda, Christian Kesten …